Session Commissions

Session (Governing Body)

The Presbyterian Church takes its name from the New Testament Greek word for "Elder": presbuteros. It describes the way the church is governed, with oversight resting on elected bodies at the congregational, regional and national levels.

The governing group in each congregation is called the Session, a body made up of men and women known as "Elders" who have been "set apart" by election and ordination into a supervisory role. The Session meets monthly to conduct the business of the church. "Teaching Elders" are the name for installed pastors in a congregation. They are also members of the Session with equal rights to the other Elders.

Lay Elders generally serve for staggered three-year terms, with a third of the Session elected each year. Ordination is a for life designation.

(click on Commission title for information about the committee)

Buildings and Grounds Commission

  • Chair Person: Sharon Fraser ('25)
  • Members: Roger Liefeld, Ken Anderson, Mark Dinwiddie, Zelda Anderson, Jill Turner, Adrienne Schilling, Kathleen Dinwiddie,  and the Volunteers dedicated to maintaining the Church and grounds.

Clerk of Session

  • Clerk: Helen Purkerson
  • Vice Clerk: Marilyn Brinster

Christian Education / A sub-committee of Worship & Nurture

Christian Nurturing

  • Chair Person: Doris Perry ('25)
  • Members: Adrienne Schilling, Gina Harrington, Kathleen Dinwiddie

Finance/Stewardship Commission

  • Chair Person: Kathleen Dinwiddie ('24)
  • Members: Jill Turner, Treasurer; Carol Jones, Secretary; Mark Dinwiddie, Finance Clerk; & Helen Purkerson

Membership and Outreach

  • Chair Person: Linda Liefeld ('24)
  • Members:  Linda Liefeld, Zelda Anderson, Kathleen Dinwiddie, Karen Roldan, Gina Harrington, & Becky Frazier
Meet our Newest Members

Mission & Peacemaking Commission

  • Chair Person: Kathleen Dinwiddie ('24')

Personnel & Administration

  • Chair Person: Becky Frazier ('25)

Music, Worship and Nurture Commission

  • Commission Chair Person: Doris Perry ('25)
  • Members: Adrienne Schilling, Gina Harrington & Doris Perry